Knowledge Base Article Lifecycle

Overview


All knowledge articles go through several stages during their lifespan, beginning with Not Submitted and progressing through Archived. An archived article is one in which the content is no longer relevant (e.g. the corresponding service has been retired) and should not be displayed to the customer; however, the institutional knowledge represented by the article shall be retained. 


The status of an article can be viewed from a search result.

 

As well as when viewing the article directly. When reading an archived article a banner notice will be added with the text "This article has been archived and may contain outdated information."

 

 

Article Status Stages and Definitions


  • Not Submitted: A draft or work-in-progress article
    • Any user with TDx Technician access can create an article, and set the status to Submitted.
    • Article owners can continue to edit their own articles or a group they are a member of.
    • It is strongly encouraged, just like when writing a document in a text editor, to click the Save Draft button frequently to minimize the chance of losing edits due to any connectivity or browser issues.
  • Submitted: An article that is ready for review
    • Articles awaiting review can be found within the Knowledge Base by clicking the Articles Pending Review menu.
    • Articles should undergo at least two levels of review
      • Level 1: Review by the subject matter expert (SME) the team responsible for the service associated with the knowledge article should be requested to review the article for technical accuracy.
      • Level 2: Review by Service Management Team of other designated team member looking for, spelling mistakes, grammar, technical accuracy and ensure adherence to the standards.
    • Once reviews are completed the article can be marked as Approved.
  • Approved: Represents an article that has been reviewed by both the SME and Service Management Team.
    • TDx Technicians can edit any articles owned by them, or a group they are a member of.
    • Service Management can edit, and approve any article.
    • Only Approved articles are displayed when an TDx Technician browses through the Knowledge Base, if they log in to the system.
  • Rejected: An article that has been rejected for approval by either Service Management or SME.
    • When a article owner or Service Management rejects an article they will include a reason for the rejection.
  • Draft Status: From the draft details page, you can take the following actions
    • Compare revisions
    • Approve the draft - this will publish the draft and make it the version available to end users. 
    • Edit the draft - this will allow you to directly edit the draft revision. From there you can save the draft (or publish it with the appropriate permission)
    • Reject the draft - this will mark the draft as rejected and optionally allow you to notify the person who wrote the draft. 
    • Delete the draft - this will delete the draft. 
  • Archived: An article that has been retired from the Knowledge Base
    • Articles that have been marked as Archived will continue to show up in knowledge searches for TDx Technicians only, and are clearly marked as such.
    • Changing the status to Archived also removes the Published setting from the article.

 

Publishing Approved Articles


Articles that have been approved, and published, are available to customers in the client Knowledge Base portals.

  • Published is a specific setting on an article that Service Management can apply to an article.
  • Only Approved articles can be Published.

Resources:

Details

Article ID: 69974
Created
Thu 1/10/19 12:04 PM
Modified
Thu 5/5/22 1:14 PM

Related Articles (1)

Learn about the standards in writing Knowledge articles and the defined review process.